Sum 41 Releases ‘Screaming Bloody Murder’: A Review

March 29, 2011

Sum 41 - Screaming Bloody MurderCanada’s Sum 41 releases ‘Screaming Bloody Murder’. The band’s new release starts out with “Reason to Believe”. It has crunchy guitars, booming drums, and a pop piano ending. These songs show a more mature and seasoned Sum 41. The title track “Screaming Bloody Murder” starts out slow to get to a business as usual sound. Great title track. “Skumfuk” is another slow starter that rips only to fizzle out at the end. Another great example of the more mature sound of the group. “Time For You To Go” is s “get the f&*k out” kind of song. Not bad, but not one of the best. “Jessica Kill” — I put this one in my chick name songs file. This one really cranks. “What Am I To Say”  has a pop sound to and is an excellent sounding song. I like this one quite a bit. “Holy Images of Lies” has the Punk Rock thing going on in overdrive, with Alternative inserts. Interesting diversity of content in this song. 

“Sick of Everyone” pretty much says it all in the title. I guess we all feel this way from time to time. If you are feeling bitter, this one is for you. “Happiness Machine” — A little bit of pop sensibility has crept into this song. There are some nice sounding guitar parts in this one. “Crash” is mellow piano with electric guitars and vocals and that is about it. This shows Sum 41′s lighter side, appearing to be about Sum 41 band member Deryck Whibley’s ex Avril Lavigne. “Blood In My Eyes” is a heavier song with more excellent guitar playing, as is found on much of the release. “Baby You Don’t Wanna Know” has more great guitars and is one of the better songs found here.

“Back Where I Belong” has more really great guitars, and this shows the edgier side of the group. “Exit Song” has organ, acoustic guitar, and vocals. Another song about Whibley’s ex. Sum 41 has delivered a diverse and excellent release that is four star listening. Give this one a try. Sum 41 is: Deryck “Bizzy D” Whibley (Lead vocals, guitar,and keyboard), Jason “Cone” McCaslin (bass, backing vocals), Steve “Stevo” Jocz (drums, percussion), and Tom “Brown Tom”  Thacker (lead guitars, backing vocals).

Contact the Author:


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,